Women’s Rights

This picture is about women’s rights, and is as relevant to me today as it was 15 years ago when I first drew it.

Women's Rights

Although I don’t usually post too many descriptions of my featured drawings, this one is a bit different. Even as a child I knew that women were looked upon differently than men. In many ways that was reflected in the “expectation” of what ladylike behavior was. Not one to fall in line with the “norm”, this was my artistic rebellion against the concept of virginity and teenage sex. I still feel that as far as women’s rights go, our hands remain tied.

Brooklyn. From many years back. Pen. Tape. Markers.

Copyright: Liz Belilovskaya

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

