Why We Should Be Thankful For Sylvester Stallone! An Essay.

Why we should be thankful for Sylvester Stallone! An Essay. 

Why We Should Be Thankful For Sylvester Stallone! An Essay.

Growing up, I was obsessed with action movies. I still remember watching Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) as it reflected on my parent’s dresser when I was supposed to be asleep – I was 6, and very afraid of metal for a long time afterwards. But I also loved Rocky (like all of them) and Conan (yes, both of them) and Bloodsport (1988)! And even the parody there of, with Charlie Sheen portraying Van Damme in Hot Shots! Part Deux (1993).

That being said, I naturally watched all of The Expendables. Written and directed by Sylvester Stallone, the films collected all of the best action stars from the last 5 decades and put them together on one silver screen. Die hard (hah!) fans like me were overwhelmed by the awesomeness before us. Not that The Expendables will win 3 Academy Awards, which in my opinion is ridiculously not fare, it was cinematic magic nonetheless.

Maybe I was too young to care about the casting of the films I loved when I fist watched them, but thanks to the instant availability of information via the world wide web, I finally Googled out Stallone and found out some freaking amazing things:

– Stallone actually wrote Rocky, his
first feature film, which became his most iconic role!

– I admit, I never really thought of Stallone as an Academy Award winning screenwriter, but that is exactly what he is – and it was his first screenplay! That’s crazy!

Rocky was actually nominated for a ton of awards. Check out the list here.

– His (occasional) lack of facial expressiveness has nothing to do with his intelligence; turns out the guy has a severed nerve on his face caused by a forceps accident during birth. In other words, his face is partially paralyzed.

– I also didn’t know this: At the time of his Oscar nominations, Sylvester Stallone was only the third person in Oscar history to be nominated in a single year as both an actor and a screenwriter. The previous two were Charles Chaplin for The Great Dictator (1940) and Orson Welles for Citizen Kane (1941).

And then I go online and read that a bunch of students running up the stairs of the Philly museum earlier this month, recreating the iconic scene for Stallone’s most memorable role, found him sitting right there – ready to take a selfie with them.

So, there you have it ladies and gentlemen – Sylvester Stallone is an incredible human being and a national treasure, and we should all be thanking our lucky stars for him. Yes, yes we should.

Image Copyright: Wiki Commons

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

